Kent County RFU Awards Dinner 2023

On Thursday the 25th May, we had our annual awards dinner at the Ashford International Hotel. This year we had a record turnout of 211 attendees. Many clubs took a full table and joined all the other represented clubs in celebrating the achievements of our teams over the current season. The RFU President Nigel Gillingham was unable to attend however, we were once again privileged to have with us the Immediate Past President of the RFU, His Honour Judge Jeff Blackett.

The following teams were celebrated and stepped up to the platford to receive their awards.

Shepherd Neame Kent & East Sussex Leagues

Kent Rural A League: Winners – Ashford 2nds. Runners Up – Medway 4ths

Kent Rural B League: Winners – Rye First Team. Runners Up – East Peckham & Paddock Wood 1st Team

Kent Rural C East League: Winners – Canterbury 5ths. Runners Up – Thanet Wanderers 3rds

Kent Rural C West: Winners – Tunbridge Wells 3rds. Runners Up – Edenbridge 1st Team

Kent Invicta : Winners – Tunbridge Wells 2nds. Runners Up – Medway 3rds

Shepherd Neame Metropolitan Leagues

Kent Metropolitan A League: Winners – Bromley 2nds. Runners Up – Beckenham 3rds

Kent Metropolitan B League: Winners – Old Alleynians 4ths. Runners Up – Swanley 1st Team

Kent Metropolitan C League: Winners – Dartfordians 4ths. Runners Up – Bromley 3rds

Women’s RFU Leagues

National Challenge 2 South East East Winners – Aylesford Bulls Women

Men’s RFU Leagues

National 2 East Winners – Blackheath 1st Team,

Regional 1 South East – Winners – Westcombe Park

Counties 1 Kent – Winners – Old Alleynians 1st. Runners up – Bromley 1st Team

Counties 2 Kent – Joint Winners – Canterbury Pilgrims & Dover 1st Team

Counties 3 Kent – Winners – Medway 2nds. Runners up Dartford Valley 1st Team

Counties 4 Kent – Winners – Tonbridge Juddians 3rds. Runners up Sittingbourne 1st Team

Counties 4 Kent Shield – Winners – Lordswood 1st Team

During the Evening we celebrated the achievements of the teams in the Kent Cup and Papa Johns Community Cup

The Whistlers Trophy

This is presented to the club that has been the most hospitable to visiting referees during the past season. The job of a referee is a voluntary role and can be quite lonely. This season, particularly, has been a difficult one with the rise of Match Official Abuse.

The way in which clubs welcome and host the referees makes a big difference to the Society – chiefly in being able to retain its members and recruit new referees to cope with the demand from clubs.

The Whistlers Trophy was awarded to Sheppey RFC.

The Annual Awards Dinner 2023 photos

Take a look and download your photos